美国国旗

美国政府的官方网站

.gov

官方网站使用 .gov

.gov网站属于美国官方政府组织网站。

Https

Secure.gov网站使用HTTPS

锁形 () 或 https://代表您已安全连接至 .gov网站。只能在安全的官方网站上共享敏感信息。

面包屑导航

  1. 首页
  2. 霸凌
  3. LGBTQI+青少年

LGBTQI+青少年

女同性恋者、男同性恋者、双性恋者、跨性别者、酷儿、双性人、非二元性别者或其他非标准性别(LGBTQI+)的青少年,以及那些被认为是LGBTQI+的人,面临霸凌的风险在增加。2019年青少年风险行为问卷调查(YRBS)显示,在全美范围内,自认为是女同性恋者、男同性恋者或双性恋者(LGB)的高中生报告,在过去一年中遭受校园霸凌和网络霸凌的比例分别为32%和26.6%,而其异性恋同学的相应比例则分别为17.1%和14.1%。该项研究还显示,出于安全考虑而不上学的LGB学生比例要高于异性恋学生,分别为13.5%和7.5%。此外,对自己的性取向“不确定”的学生报告,其遭受校园霸凌、网络霸凌,以及出于安全考虑而不上学的比例分别为26.9%、19.4%、和15.5%。

数据的缺失

过去,YRBS和其他研究收集了有关女同性恋者、男同性恋者和双性恋青少年的数据,但并不包括关于跨性別者、非二元性别者、非常规性别、双性人或酷儿青少年的问题。随着情况的变化和数据的可用,这方面内容将得到更新,以纳入有关这类青少年的信息。

此外,LGBTQI+青少年是多元化的,并拥有其他社会身份(例如,宗教、种族/族群),这可能会使其遭受多方面的霸凌和骚扰。

霸凌使所有青少年在抑郁、自杀倾向、滥用毒品和酒精、遭遇性暴力、发生不安全性行为等方面面临更大风险,并可能影响学业。对于LGBTQI+青少年来说,这些风险甚至更高。

防止和应对LGBTQI+青少年霸凌问题,在策略上需要有重要且独特的考量。虽然有些策略是专门针对LGBTQI+青少年的,但如果学校和社区采用了大多数策略,将会为所有学生提供更安全的环境。

为LGBTQI+青少年创造安全环境

为所有LGBTQI+青少年建立一个安全环境很重要。家长、学校和社区都可以发挥作用,从而防止霸凌,并让LGBTQI+青少年感到身心安全。

  • 鼓励尊重所有学生。
  • 禁止对所有学生的霸凌、骚扰和暴力。
  • 在学校开展社交情绪学习活动,以促进同学关系,并帮助学生培养同理心。
  • 确定“安全空间”,如辅导员办公室或指定教室,LGBTQI+青少年可在这些地方得到管理人员、教师或其他学校教职员工的支持。
  • 鼓励发展由学生领导和学生组织的校园俱乐部,以促进一个安全、热情和包容的学校环境(例如,男同性恋者-异性恋者联盟或性别和性取向联盟)。如果学校有其他“课外”俱乐部或团体,那么也必须允许这类俱乐部或团体的存在。进一步了解根据《平权法案》成立“同直联盟”的权利
  • 确保在健康课程或教学材料中纳入与LGBTQI+青少年相关的HIV、其他STD/STI和怀孕预防等内容。
  • 使用包容性语言并避免想当然。我们使用的词语可以帮助人们感到被认可,并创造一种归属感。例如,在提到一个群体时,使用“你们大家”而不是“兄弟们”,从而传达出性别平等的信息。使用性别中立代词,比如“他们”,而不是“他/她”。您也可以用“家长”来代替“母亲”和“父亲”。
  • 使用学生自己选择的名字和代词
  • 培训学校教职员工如何为所有学生,包括LGBTQI+青少年,创造安全和支持性的校园环境。
  • 获取社区提供者服务便利化,这类经验丰富的提供者可为LGBTQI+青少年提供医疗、咨询、社会、心理,以及HIV/STI检测等健康服务。

查找更多针对教育工作者和家长的资源

联邦民权法、性取向和性别认同

2021年1月20日,总统签署了一项《防止和打击基于性别认同和性取向歧视的行政命令》,申明了政府的政策,即“[所有]人,不论其性别认同或性取向,均应在法律下受到平等对待”。

  • 美国司法部发布了一份备忘录,明确了“1972年教育法修正案第九条”(教育法修正案第九条)中禁止“基于性别”的歧视,包括基于性别认同和性取向的歧视。
  • 美国教育部也证实,它将执行“教育法修正案第九条”的保护措施,以反对基于性别的歧视,包括性取向和性别认同。

阅读更多联邦民权法信息。

遇到歧视时该怎么办

认为自己在学校因性别、性取向、性别认同,或因不符合常规性别类型,或其他原因而受到歧视的学生,可向美国教育部的民权办公室(OCR)提交投诉,或向司法部的民权司提交投诉


最后审查日期

U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. What Is Bullying
  3. LGBTQI+ Youth

LGBTQI+ Youth

Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, nonbinary or otherwise gender non-conforming  (LGBTQI+) youth and those perceived as LGBTQI+ are at an increased risk of being bullied. Results from the 2019 Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) show that, nationwide, more U.S. high school students who self-identify as lesbian, gay, or bisexual (LGB) report having been bullied on school property (32%) and cyberbullied (26.6%) in the past year than their straight peers (17.1% and 14.1%, respectively). The study also showed that more LGB students (13.5%) than straight students (7.5%) reported not going to school because of safety concerns. Students who identified as "not sure" of their sexual orientation also reported being bullied on school property (26.9%), being cyberbullied (19.4%), and not going to school because of safety concerns (15.5%).

Gaps in the data

Historically, YRBS and other studies have gathered data on lesbian, gay, and bisexual youth but have not included questions about transgender, non-binary, gender non-conforming, intersex, or queer youth. As that changes and data becomes available, this content will be updated to include information regarding these youth.

Additionally, LGBTQI+ youth are diverse and have other social identities, (e.g., religion, race/ethnicity) that may compound their experiences with bullying and harassment.

Bullying puts all youth at increased risk for depression, suicidal ideation, misuse of drugs and alcohol, experiencing sexual violence, engaging in unsafe sex practices, and can affect academics as well. For LGBTQI+ youth, that risk is even higher.

There are important and unique considerations for strategies to prevent and address bullying of LGBTQI+ youth. While some strategies are specifically for LGBTQI+ youth, most, if adopted by schools and communities, make environments safer for all students.

Create a Safe Environment for LGBTQI+ Youth

It is important to build a safe environment for all LGBTQI+ youth.  Parents, schools, and communities can all play a role in preventing bullying and helping LGBTQI+ youth feel physically and emotionally safe.

  • Encourage respect for all students.
  • Prohibit bullying, harassment, and violence against all students.
  • Conduct social-emotional learning activities in school to foster peer-relationships and help students develop empathy.
  • Identify "safe spaces," such as counselors' offices or designated classrooms, where LGBTQI+ youth can receive support from administrators, teachers, or other school staff.
  • Encourage student-led and student-organized school clubs that promote a safe, welcoming, and accepting school environment (e.g., gay-straight alliances or gender and sexuality alliances). Schools must allow these clubs or groups if they have other "non-curricular" clubs or groups. Learn more about the right to form a GSA under the Equal Access Act.
  • Ensure that health curricula or educational materials include HIV, other STD/STI, and pregnancy prevention information that is relevant to LGBTQI+ youth.
  • Use inclusive language and avoid making assumptions. The words we use can make help people feel acknowledged and create a sense of belonging. For example, using "y'all" when referring to a group conveys gender equality rather than using "guys." Use gender-neutral pronouns like "they" or "them" instead of "he/she" or "him/her." You can also use words like "parent" instead of "mother" and "father."
  • Use students' chosen names and pronouns.
  • Train school staff on how to create safe and supportive school environments for all students, including LGBTQI+ youth.
  • Facilitate access to community-based providers who have experience providing health services, including medical, counseling, social, and psychological services, and HIV/STI testing for LGBTQI+ youth.

Find more resources for educators and parents

Federal Civil Rights Laws, Sexual Orientation, and Gender identity

On January 20, 2021, the President signed an Executive Order on Preventing and Combating Discrimination on the Basis of Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation which sets out the Administration's policy that  "[a]ll persons should receive equal treatment under the law, no matter their gender identity or sexual orientation."

  • The U.S. Department of Justice issued a memo clarifying that the prohibition on discrimination "on the basis of sex" in Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (Title IX) includes discrimination on the basis of gender identity and sexual orientation.
  • The U.S. Department of Education also confirmed that it will enforce Title IX protections against discrimination on the basis of sex, including sexual orientation and gender identity.

Read more about federal civil rights laws.

What to do if you have faced discrimination

Students who believe they have faced discrimination at school based on sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or because they do not conform with sex stereotypes, or for another reason may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR) or submit a report with the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division.


Date Last Reviewed